Configure Preferences: Backups
Menu: Configure > Preferences
Default Shortcut Key: none
Macro function: ConfigurePreferences()
The Backups page of the Configure Preferences dialog box contains options which deal with file backups and the Autosave feature:
File backup Options
Create a backup file when first saving a file
Use this option to request that a backup file be created the first time a file is saved. Subsequent Save operations will not disturb the backup file. If this option is unchecked, all other backup options are disabled.
Overwrite backup file on each file save
Use this option to request that a new backup file be written every time File | Save is performed. When this option is not selected, the backup file will be written the first time a file is saved, but not thereafter.
Extension to use for backups
Use this option to specify the extension which is to be used for file backups. The extension can be 1 to 3 characters long.
Add backup extension to filename (name.ext.bak)
Use this option if you prefer that the backup file extension be added to the filename without removing any existing file extension.
Replace extension with backup extension (name.bak)
Use this option if you prefer that the backup file extension replace any existing file extension.
Location of backup files
Place backup file in the directory of the file being edited
Use this option to specify that backup files be placed in the same directory as the file being edited. The ellipsis (...) button can be used to browse for a directory using a standard dialog.
Place all backup files in Boxer's "Backup" directory
Use this option to specify that all backup files be placed in the "Backup" directory (folder) which appears in Boxer's home (installation) directory.
Place all backup files in the directory named below
Use this option to specify that all backup files be placed in the directory name which is provided in the associated edit box.
This option can be used to indicate that edited files be saved automatically after the supplied time interval has elapsed.
Seconds to wait before saving
Use this option to specify the number of seconds after which Autosave should be performed. Caution: using a value which is too small could interfere with data entry when a very large file is being edited, or on very slow PCs.